Fill out the form to download

Required field
Required field
Not a valid email address
Required field

Documentation

How To Add Custom Camera Position in the Post-processor?

From time to time, simulating a project requires the comparison between the results from different runs. Providing a neat report might require to recreate the same angle and add screenshots side-to-side. Of course this can be troublesome to perform manually, so adding a custom camera position for your screenshots could save time, add quality, and finally improve your post-processing experience.

screenshots of results with a saved custom camera position
Figure 1: The screenshots of the results from two different runs are combined side-to-side after being placed with a saved view.

This feature can be seen at the top left of the orientation cube after entering the post-processing interface:

positioning of the custom camera position feature on the interface
Figure 2: You can easily access the custom camera position menu next to the orientation cube using the post-processing interface.

In the following sections you will learn how to create, rename, delete, and eventually use a custom camera configuration.

1. Adding a New View

Before you add a new camera position place your model manually, either by using the cursor, or the orientation cube’s arrows.

the positioning is done manually
Figure 3: Manually adapt the model to the position you wish to save.

After you are done with the placement, click on the icon of the feature, and select the ‘Save current view’ option:

save current view menu for custom camera position
Figure 4: Saving a new view by selecting the ‘Save current view’ option

Then the new view will be placed on the list that can be accessed at any given time:

custom camera position menu with saved views
Figure 5: All of the custom camera positions will be listed on top of the + Save current view option.

Note

The saved views are only available inside the project they were created.

2. Renaming and Deleting Saved Views

You might want to rename a saved view so you distinguish it and avoid confusion, or even delete one that you no longer need:

rename and delete a view from the menu
Figure 6: Managing a saved view by renaming or deleting it.
  1. Click on the edit icon to rename your current saved view.
  2. Click on the delete icon to delete your current saved view.

3. Using a Saved View

After saving a new view, and potentially renaming it as well, you can open different runs from the same projects, and take screenshots where the model is positioned according to the pre-defined configuration.

Note

Keep in mind that the camera positions can be created and deleted only by the project editor.

You just have to click on the same feature icon, and choose one of your desired saved views:

animation of how to use the saved custom camera position
Animation 1: The model will be immediately re-positioned and you can take a screenshot to compare with different runs later.

Tip about comparing results

If you wish to effectively compare the color distribution between different runs of the same simulation, make sure you are visualizing the same parameter, with the same range displayed in the legend bar.

Note

If none of the above suggestions solved your problem, then please post the issue on our forum or contact us.

Last updated: May 19th, 2021

Contents
Data Privacy