One of the major advantages of a web-based platform are the advanced collaboration and sharing features possible. Especially in the case of simulation, collaboration and the sharing of results and insights is important to realize the value simulation brings to the engineering design process. Currently SimScale offers different options to share projects with other users, within or outside an organisation, and also with the SimScale Support team.
The Share functionality can be accessed from the project overview page:
Or directly from inside the workbench:
In the share dialog you can either provide a user’s email address or the SimScale username (2) to share the project with a specific user. When sharing a project, the user granted with access permissions will receive an email from SimScale with a link to the project.
While sharing the project you can also control the granted access permissions (3) as follows:
Can copy: allows to make a copy of the project
Can view: allows only to view the project
Please note that whenever the recipient creates a copy of your project, the copy will be a snapshot of your project at the time of copying and won’t see any changes of the project that have been saved afterwards. The end user can make subsequent copies for any new changes to be reflected in the project.
Share project with support
In case you need help with your project from the SimScale support team, either ask for support via the integrated chat or by opening a support ticket. While being supported via the chat, your SimScale support engineer might ask you to share your project with them, which you can do by ticking the Share with support(4) option in the share dialog or by ticking the same option in the bottom of the chat window (see (1) below).
When creating a support ticket via the bug report tool, the project will automatically be shared with the SimScale support team. The Share project with support option allows the SimScale support team to copy your project. Any copy of your project created by the SimScale support will always be kept private.
Strictly Necessary Cookies
Strictly Necessary Cookie should be enabled at all times so that we can save your preferences for cookie settings.
If you disable this cookie, we will not be able to save your preferences. This means that every time you visit this website you will need to enable or disable cookies again.