"The meshing algorithm failed with a floating point exception."

Hi everyone,
I’m a student who participate to Formula Student in France and I am in charge of the aerodynamics department.
Currently, we want to simulate the airflow around our car but I have a problem with the mesh : The meshing algorithm failed with a floating point exception.
Here is the link to my project for anyone who wants to help us : https://www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=7676916528519287894&mi=spec%3A1c741b2a-588c-4cb0-a410-38fdf4baa688%2Cservice%3AMESHING%2Cstrategy%3A317&sh=312
The simulation with the problem is called : “Incompressible ET-21 avec aéro”

Thank you everyone and let me know if you have any further question

Hey there!

It seems like there are some modeling problems in your geometry, for example in this area:

Please check the model in your CAD, and clean it for interferences and small faces. Also, I can see parts intersecting each other, which can also cause problems. Please also fix those cases, for example:

1 Like

Hi, thanks for your answer. Unfortunately, despite the changes made, I still have the same problem…
Best regards, Johan

Hi @jmazet

I had a look at your case and here are some pointers:

1. As my colleague @ggiraldof mentioned, the struts connecting wheels and the body are not modeled to touch each other. You can extend the struts and then do a boolean → union to merge them.
  2. For an external Aerodynamics simulation we would need to create an enclosure around the body of the car to imitate the wind tunnel setup. This can be done within SimScale’s CAD mode and choosing the External Fluid volume operation. Here is an article that shows the workflow: How to Create Flow Volume Extraction? | Knowledge Base | SimScale

Once you create the External flow volume, you can follow the tutorial on Aerodynamics Simulation of Flow Around a Vehicle
to get an overview of the setup.

Please let us know if that helped. Happy to assist further.
With Kind Regards,
Ajit

2 Likes