Powerboat trim angle study

Hello to everybody,

My name is Zeus, I am a naval architect from Uruguay, working in the UK at the moment.

I am really interested in predicting the trim angle of planning hulls, because in my office we do this with old Savitsky’s equations (forgive me dear Sav!), but I would like to try which are the results with CFD.

So, I would like to invite all the people interested in the project to work together and try to solve the problem.

I don’t know anything about CFD, but I can help with the hull, naval architecture and later to compare the results with the old Savitsky equations.

Maybe, first it would be better to simulate one of Savitsky experiments, and then try with a different hull.

Let me know your questions, of course the project will be public, so everybody can learnt from it.

Many thanks!

5 Likes

Very nice idea, I’m in.

I propose that as a first step you show us an example case done with equations, in order to analyse the phenomena and the kind of simulation we can make. If you have seen this done in CFD before, an example of that would be very useful also.

Second, you can select the Savistky experiment we will use as a benchmark and show it to us, alongside the reference results, so can we build the simulation and plan the posprocessing to extract the relevant data.

Greetings.

Hi @zgaryulo, Hi @ggiraldo,

excellent - interested in this topic as well. @zgaryulo do I get you correct, that the quantity that you want the simulation to predict is the angle the boat has with respect to the horizontal axis? So the boat can not be fixed in the domain, but free at least in rotation across the lateral axis? So looking at the graphic below, you’re looking for \tau ?

(Source: Planing bow hull and getting over the bow wave hump | Boat Design Net)

If that’s correct, we’ll probably need to work with the 6DOF model. In the other topic over here the boat is fixed withing the domain, so \tau is prescribed and not computed.