Modeling a canister filter

Great program. I see many uses and like the functionality.
I am new to CFD and am trying model a canister filter that has a 4 inch port to 200 mH2O vacuum and a 2.5 inch port to atmosphere. It models well with just the two ports. When I add a dip tube 8 inches into the many canister body I can not get it to show the flow coming down the tube. The tube is added to force the intake flow to the bottom of the chamber.
I believe I am not setting up the solid model properly.
Any help would be appreciated.

Hi there, could you add an image to show how the fluid is expected to flow inside the model?

Best regards,
Fillia

Actually I got it to work well. But now I need to make changes as I have to add a diverter and a baffle. I struggle with how to build the model so that it simulated properly. Maybe I have missed it but a tutorial on model building would be greatly helpful to demonstrate the concepts.
On You Tube show ho someone models a heat exchanger. That has tubes within tubes, Multiple inputs and outputs, etc.
I really like your program so if we get this model finished and working we will be other than a free subscriber.
Thank you for your quick response.

For our simple model here is the air flow.

Eventually we would like to model the filter with a baffle an diverter. On thei next picture you can \see the diverter at the box of the dip tube and the horizontal baffle.

I hope this helps

I sent the request diagrams, do you have any further comments.

Hi!

Having a look at the diagrams, the last simulation run shows the exact behavior that you described:

The issue with some of the other simulations that you ran is that you were also selecting the side face of the dip tube as an inlet. This was causing a weird flow pattern:

Now, the velocities look extremely high here. Is it a 200 mH2O vacuum, or a 200 mmH2O vacuum?

Cheers

1 Like