Mismatch between inlet and outlet flows

Hello,

I am a beginner in CFD simulations as well as using Simscale. I am trying to simulate an incompressible flow (water) through a channel with both converging and diverging cross-sections. I have defined the boundary conditions as

1. Inlet - Defined Pressure (Fixed) = 1bar gauge
  2. No slip at walls
  3. Outlet - Pressure (average) = 0 bar (gauge)

The z-direction is along the length of the channel.

Post processing the result, I find that some of the quantities don’t converge, i.e. Ux and Uy. Additionally, I see that from statistics of the inlet cross-section and outlet cross-section, there is a mismatch of the volumetric flow rates,

i.e. Inlet Flow rate > Outlet flow rate.

If someone has any pointers to things which I have missed or overlooked, that would be extremely helpful.

Link - SimScale

Thank you

Hello!

I had a look at the project and am posting some comments below:

• When using statistics, it’s a good idea to use cell data instead of node data.
  • In simulations in general, since it’s an iterative process, you will never have a 100% mass/momentum/energy conservation in the post-processor. There will always be some residual (i.e. the residuals plot). The closer to convergence you are, the better conservation you will get
  • Having a look at statistics on the inlet/outlet faces, you are getting 8.4e-6 m3/s at the outlet and 8.41e-6 m3/s at the inlet, which is pretty close (0.1%). Monitoring convergence with result controls helps.

Hi Richard,

Thanks for the inputs. Yes, you are right, the inlet and outlet flow rates match very well. I had probably made a mistake during selection of respective faces. I clicked on face 2 while face 1 was also selected, so the average volumetric flow rate somehow skewed up. Had to de-select statistics icon again before proceeding to select face 2.