Intake manifold convergence

LINK OF THE PROJECT: https://www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=8941575546584074889&mi=spec%3A28d13863-0adc-43ff-a753-6099ef70b4ff%2Cservice%3ASIMULATION%2Cstrategy%3A331

Hi, I’m doing a transient analysis for an Intake manifold, I’m studying air performance in the intake for the cylinder heads in the fire order of 1 - 4 - 2 - 3. In the compressible 9 section, I did some transient analysis from ‘transient test 1 to 6’ and failed, maybe my mesh was to fine so I read that reducing the number of cells not to coarse will help, so It started to work for me. From ‘transient test 7 to 10’, each analysis stopped because the runtime over (community plan), but I achieved the pressure pulse of each cylinder and the velocity profile. I will show you my doubts.

Transient test 7:

1. I added 4 non-orthogonal correctors ( <75 degrees).
  2. I changed the relaxation factor of the density field to 0.01 (I don’t know why some public projects for transient simulation add this value but I just copied :slight_smile: ).
  3. I changed the scheme of gradient to Celllimited Gauss linear 1) because I read in a OpenFoam tips that for standard mesh the LeastSquares generate oscilatory data).
  4. The time step it’s low because I’m analyzing the engine performance at 5800 RPM and the valve opens and closes it’s fast.

Pressure pulse in the cylinder and inlet:

Note: The overshoot in the inlet pressure, I used Flow rate because I’m using that design parameter.

Velocity profile:

Note: Ends because the runtime it’s not the total end time (0.1289)

Turbulent Kinetic energy:

Note: Appeared to be increasing in time, not periodic.

Residuals:

Transient test 8:

CHANGES IN THE NUMERICS:

1. I changed the relaxation factors to increase convergence, p=0.4, U=0.8, ρ=0.01, h=0.8, e=0.8, k=0.8 and ω=0.8.
  2. I write the initial condition for pressure: 142 kPa It’s the pressure for my pressure pulse.

Pressure pulse in the cylinder and inlet: