Incompressible Fluid Flow - Convergence Problem (Boundary?)

Hey guys,

I try to keep it minimal here but this is my first time working with CAD and SimScale so for me it is a lot of try and error as you can see in my multiple Simulation runs :slight_smile:

I am working on an airy incompressible steady - state simulation and here’s the project link: https://www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=6369770301241726981&mi=spec:27d1d1c6-f635-4b96-b656-119fdf0a926e,service:SIMULATION,strategy:4

There are a few questions but the biggest ones would be:

Which specific advise would you have for me regarding the convergence?

Can anybody tell me why the simulation run 2 and 4 failed? It seems to be the same error message: „Gauge pressure field started diverging. Please check the mesh quality near the reported location and try refining the mesh. If the problem occured near a boundary, please check the boundary conditions.“

The point described is very near to the Pressure outlet boundary condition so I guess either the boundary definition or the mesh is somehow flawed. If the problem is the mesh then how do I refine it at a specific point?

Then can you tell why pressure and omega are instabil. Is it the same reason? I could also imagine that the wind tunnel is not long enough.

Here are the errors and steps I tried:

Run 2.) Error because of gauge pressure diverging

Run 3.) Changed Pressure fixed value to mean value
—> All Convergence plots look good to me but the residual plot for pressure and omega is not stable. Why? I tried to do more Iterations but it didn’t fix the problem.

Run 4.) Turned potential flow initialization on, decreased relaxation factor for pressure from 0.7 to 0.5, chose Mesh 4 which is more fine but lower quality. (And added probe points)
—> Same Error as Run 2
—> Now all values get very unstable towards the end