Help set up an attic simulation

I’m a hobbyist who knows just enough to get in trouble.

I wanted to see how the placement of an intake vent in our oddly shaped attic space would affect the venting of hot air. I created a model of air space of the unfinished section of our attic. For simplicity, I thought I would create a slice of the attic, rather than include the whole thing.

The project is public and at SimScale

I’m using Conjugate Heat Transfer v2, which might not even be the right simulation type. I added the Solar Calculator, hopefully to add heat to the roof. The general air temperature is 80 degrees F, inside and out. I know the sun hits the roof and warms it up and then the heat is transferred to the attic air, but I’m not sure how to set that up.

It would be a lot to ask to have someone set up the model correctly for me (although if you find it easy and can do it in a minute or two, that would be great), so does anyone have an existing model which I could use as a guide? Or perhaps there’s a simple tutorial? Most of the ones I’ve found are for more complex entities such as office buildings.

I’m really just looking for the comparative difference in moving an intake vent higher or lower. Attic intake vents are normally installed at the lowest point feasible in the unfinished attic space. Our contractor installed intake vents over halfway up the attic. I suspect this affects the performance of the passive ventilation, and I’m trying to see if demonstrate the difference.

Thanks for any help. I realize that, unassisted, the odds of my setting this up correctly is about nil. If there are better (free) tools than SimScale for answering my question, that would be great, too.

Hi there, and welcome to the forum!

I checked your model and I have one big question. Does your geometry represent the air volume inside the attic? Why is there this void in the middle?

Also, perhaps you might want to perform a convective heat transfer simulation in this case.