Geometry issues when trying to build enclosure

Hi all, Just started using SimScale (and pretty green with CFD generally). I’m trying to do a wind analysis on a small patch (couple blocks) of a neighborhood (I’m on community plan so using incompressible without LBM). Just looking to visualize what winds would do coming from the south.)
Here’s my project →

First problem is I’m having a hard time getting an enclosure around my small urban model. I’ve edited and re-uploaded the model many times, trying diff modeling strategies but keep getting the below error— “The geometry could not be combined at face95635@solid77. Please consider cleanup operations in your CAD tool.”—though when I fix that face, another face shows up as a problem the next time.

Appreciate any help anyone can give! (Also, as I am new to this I’m not sure i am going about setting up this whole simulation right and am open to hearing if there is a better way!)

Hi @dborowsk: Do you want your city to fly, please? If not, please consider cut the basements by appropriate bottom of your enclosure first. :smile: If it still fails, we will look again… Bottom line is that you need a common ground and enclosure will make it flat. If you have special topography, you would need to integrate it in your geometry before importing.

I would ask you to check dimensions of imported geometry : it is inches, hence your city looks really tiny.

Cheers,

Retsam

1 Like

Thank you for that feedback! OK so I am working with cleaned up geometry now. I have
“sunken” the city into the enclosure and confirmed that although it is in inches, the scale is correct. 2500 in = about 200 ft.

Enclosure seems to be working now! I’m going to move on now to try an incompressible simulation!

Thanks again for the help!