Beginner need advice On External CFD

Hi there,

I am new to the CFD and I have tried to run several tutorial projects but I need some assistance on the projects.

1. I tried the the " User Guide: External Aerodynamics around a vehicle" I could not find the “Material Point” Option. I could only find “Background Mesh Box”. Where can I find the Material point option?

2. There are the rule of thumb on mesh box size and several other numbers. How can I find out how each numbers came about? While waiting for Question 1, I am doing “Tutorial: Incompressible turbulent airflow around a front wing” and there are many more parameters that I would like to know how the numbers come about.

3. How do I do a multiple faces/ box select? in the front wing tutorial, I ended up using right click select all visible parts after hiding the non wanted faces. Is there a drag box or shift-click kind method?

4. When meshing and simulating, how do I get a preview of estimated time before starting and estimated remaining time? All I see is the percent completed and how long the simulation has been running.

5. Lastly and perhaps the most newbie question, how do I reverse the rotation direction of my mouse?

Thank you beforehand for your help!

Hi @bna,

1. If it is an external CFD, Material Point is possibly not available anymore for HEX mesh (automatic at least). Material Point should be set outside the simulated geometry, somewhere in the space around, but I believe now it is not necessary to do it by hand. Perhaps doing parametric HEX mesh you can still manipulate it.

2. There is new document available now (March 2020) about quality meshing: High quality mesh .

3. When preparing a mesh, please use ‘Topological entity set’ option, allowing you to group geometry faces. This is manual and your current method is correct. There is no shift-click or drag box.