Wind turbines

i am now a student at swansea university, we have a project up coming to design, build and impliment a 2m^2 sweep area wind turbine to be mounted atop one of our buildings (we officially live in the windiest place in england) what kind of differences will i need to set up for this to compute accuratly (for example factoering in the rotation of the blade into the airflow calculations and similar

1 Like

Hi @Lemlurker, I started an optimisation project on a wind turbine and I’m working on the next iteration…

Wind Turbine blade, fluid and structural optimisation using CAE

There are a few good references I used at the bottom, my next write up will include more info on cord length distribution. One of the references gives a lot to think about including potential power, typical efficiencies, blade design etc: http://www.gurit.com/files/documents/2aerodynamicspdf.pdf

I also have a matlab file if your interested to calculate blade twist with input variables like design wind speed, rpm blade size… should be easy to adapt to your needs!

If you have more specific questions I’ll do my best to answer!

best,
Darren Lynch

4 Likes

thanks for the help, i guess the main thing im interested in is how i could read out the amount of torque i would get out of my turbine, and i guess aditionally how can you factor in the change in blade aoa due to its rotation. also im very interested in how you go through the process of optimiseation, how do you know what to change and what to modify, how do you go from a very basic turbine blade and work through modifying it up to an efficient blad (btw ive got 1 month to design this!)

1 month is not a lot of time :slight_smile: I think Ive just taken a 1 month break from this project :confused:

One you have a design you can simulate it read the tongue from the forces and moment results control option in SimScale.