Why is meshing computation time so slow?

I’ve been using COMSOL for several years now and recently decided to migrate to SimScale. Creating a mesh in COMSOL for CFD is substantially quicker than SimScale. I’m running COMSOL on a 4-core i7 processor with 16 Gb of RAM. I was under the assumption that SimScale would generate a much faster mesh considering it can run on up to 32 cores. Additionally, creating refined meshes in SimScale is a pain. COMSOL can automatically generate really good meshes.

I know you can get better results by using parameter meshing, but it is overwhelming and I’m not sure what most of the parameters are. Is there a way of creating good meshes without having to spend hours refining it in SimScale?

Thanks

Hello @tkassis and thank you for reaching out to us!

I can understand your issue as I also migrated to SimScale from the mighty software Abaqus so to say not that long ago :wink: . Of course every software/platform has advantages as well as disadvantages and at the end of the day you as a user have to decide what suits you most. What you have to take into account though is that software like COMSOL, ANSYS etc. are way older than SimScale having gathered a ton of experience over the years. But we are keen optimizing our platform step-by-step and happy that we have people like you showing what they do like and of course don’t like. This helps a lot!

Something that I would like to point out is the common misconception that if you use the maximum amount of cores will automatically guarantee a “faster” mesh. For that I recommend the following video from SimScale explaining when you have to use a specific amount of cores to get the most efficient mesh (efficient in the sense of time).

$$\underline{\textbf{Supercomputer Power on SimScale}}$$