Trying to simulate air flow in a melodica

Hi,

I am a hobbyist who likes to play the melodica. A melodica is a wind instrument with a piano keyboard. When a key is pressed, air flows past a reed and out an exhaust port. The vibration of the reed makes the sound.

If I press, two keys, especially a low note and high note, the high note loses a lot of volume. High notes have smaller reeds (and reed gaps along which the air flows out), but they are also much further from the entry point of the air. Connect two melodicas using tubes in a Y-configuration and a low note played on one won’t affect a high note played on the other. I was hoping to find out something about what happens when I do this.,

Most of my modeling experience is with Sketchup. I used Autodesk Fusion 360 and I figured out I needed to model the “air space” inside the melodica as a solid. I think that’s what I did.

I then set up the model inside SimScale and put in what I thought were reasonable parameters. I ran the simulation. After 18 minutes or so, I got some results. I thought I’d get some of those nice. colorful particle traces or something. I got nothing interesting. Clearly I goofed on the setup.

If anyone is willing to spend some time looking through the model, that would be great. If not, well, I’ll keep plugging away at it. I don’t expect anyone to spend any large chunk of time on it; I’m hoping one of you knows enough about beginner errors that you probably already know where I went wrong.

Here’s a link to the project: SimScale

Thanks!

Hey there and nice project idea! :slight_smile: