Post-Processor - Visualization Help

I am new to CFD and have run a simmulation in the hope of understanding wind flow around a national park. I am however struggling to understand how to post process and visualize my results or even extracting specific location point data from it. The link to the project SimScale is there anyone that can help?

Hi @schrist!

Have you had a look at the new blog post about the release of the new workbench? This might help you out: Workbench 2.0 Blog Post. For detailed questions I am sure my colleague Darren (@1318980) can help you out :slight_smile:

Best,

Jousef

1 Like

Hi @schrist,

That is a great model. There are several issues with the simulation but I’m not sure how accurate you’re looking to get results out so let me know what the objective of the project is.

While I’m also very new to the new post-processor, I agree with Jousef that you need to look through the page about the new features and how to use them. For your case, a simple velocity/pressure slice (cutting planes) at any desirable elevation or location would probably be what you’re looking for along with streamlines to see how flow progresses throughout the domain.

You may also need to probe points to deduce say the wind velocity at that particular point. I don’t think you will be able to probe points without first setting up their points (in the x, y and z direction) before the simulation phase under probe points below result control. So do perform that if needed.

A brief look at the velocity plot dosen’t seem to show anything useful as the flow speed is very low throughout the domain. You might want to re-check the mesh and the BCs. Alternatively you can perform your post-processing offline via ParaView (which is my preferred way).

Cheers.

Regards,
Barry

3 Likes

Thank you Jousef and Barry for your responses. I will in deed be looking into the page that Jousef shared about all the new features.

Thanx also for the advice on the probes.