Pedestrian Wind Comfort Analysis

Hi there! I’m new to SimScale, so I’m not really sure on how to use certain features. I’m trying to use the incompressible module to determine wind levels at pedestrian level in Toronto’s Financial District. I made the model, but I’m having trouble making the enclosure, it keeps on saying I have to clean up my model. I’m not sure what to clean up, and it took me quite a bit of time to make the model, so I really don’t want to scrap it. I’m also unsure of what seed face to select. What steps should I take to make the simulation? Thanks for your help!
Project link: SimScale

Hi @NLim8!

Let me check that and get back to you as soon as I know more!

Edit: My colleague Ajit suggested the following steps:

So there are two things we can do to avoid this:

1. Remove the floor ( rectangular base) since this is a flat terrain model.

2. If you click on the error face, you can see that the building has a curved face which is connected to the adjacent face of the building. We can ask the user to combine (boolean) or merge the faces of the building to be a single part and then try the enclosure.

The face in red has some error - my guess is that the red face and the adjacent face has a very small gap inbetween and the enclosure fails at this location.

Jousef

Thanks for your help! I was able to make the enclosure after combining the faces of the building. Is it possible to have the enclosure as a wireframe but the geometries to show surfaces? What sort of boundary conditions would I have to set?

Hi @NLim8!

These simulations can help you out in your PWC endeavour: SimScale - you can also find other projects in the library.

For the buildings to show simply click on the eye symbol eye in the geometry tree on the right side to only hide the surrounding box faces. Let me know if that crisp explanation helped.

Jousef

Thanks! I’ll have a look at those projects

1 Like