Object suspended from chains (or strings)

I am a hobbyist, and new to this level of CAD and simulation. Modelling an object suspended by 3 to 6 flexible cables (inextensible for modelling purposes) is causing me much thinking and not much action. I am looking for tensions in cables (or chains or strings), plus ability of object to withstand small forces at right angles to gravitational field. I was trying to figure out how to parameterise suspension attachment points (say relative to centre of mass), amongst other issues. I couldn’t find anything vaguely related, so if anyone can give me a lead for something to look at and learn from, please comment.
Am I correct that to model an attachment point that can move at any angle, that I need to insert a small piece so can have two rotational surfaces at right angles? Or is there a better way?

1 Like

Hi @rigtig! First of all a warm welcome from SimScale. You registered not that long ago :wink:

Interesting application you are dealing with. May I ask if there is already a model set up by you that you have uploaded on our platform? If so, please let me first have a look at it and let me think about some strategies that we can use in order to make some first approximations for this type of simulation.

Looking forward to see what we can achieve here :slight_smile:

Cheers and all the best!

Jousef

I had my first go at using FreeCAD and I have loaded it into. For more background, see RigTig's Big 3D Printer | Hackaday.io. In particular, the comment about wobbling of the effector (Wobbling of effector | Details | Hackaday.io) which is what has led me to experiment with simulation.
It is all fun to learn more every time I have a go a something. I certainly run out of day before I run out of things I am working on!! And I am supposed to be retired!!!

1 Like