More of our newest physics feature (CHT) - Heat Exchanger project

CHT’s our newest physics feature. Have a look at this heat exchanger project by @sjesu_rajendra

1 Like

Hello,

Thank you for sharing this project. I am myself very interested in SimScale’s abilities to simulate CHT.

I have very little experience with OpenFoam and Paraview and I was wondering if it would be possible to get some post-processing help for a case like this one. To be precise, let me list the parameters thatI would like to be able to measure or calculate (some I already know, but I want to be thorough):

• Shell-side entering and leaving flow rates (volumetric and mass), and temperatures,
  • Similar parameters on the tube side,
  • Internal and external tube surface area (I know I can get it from the CAD model, but knowing how to do it in the post-processing environment would be useful).

Assuming the shell wall is insulated this would allow for calculation of the overall heat transfer coefficient, which is one of key parameters for heat exchanger design.

In addition, I would like to be able to calculate pressure drop values.

Finally, there are more advanced parameters that I would like to be able to determine, such as:

-Tube local and average, internal and external heat transfer coefficients.

I am quite impressed by the capabilities of your product, but my inability to correctly analyze the simulation greatly offsets the quality of the product, as far as I am concerned.

I know it is a lot to ask for, but a tutorial that explains how to obtain the information I am looking for would be amazing. At the very least, I would be grateful if you could direct me towards some reference material that could help me better understand the various aspects of post-processing (Pawel already emailed a link to the offline post-processing video).

Thank you for your help,

Yohann

Hi Yohann,

Thanks for your post - this will take a bit of time, but I’ll see what I can put together :smile: