Help needed to solves problem in project for thermal analysis and heat flow

Hi, I am trying to thermal analysis of a raspberry pi in an enclosure. I would like to show the heat dissipation and heat airflow when a fan is installed. I am a beginner and have various difficulties and can’t find a solution for them.
Having errors where there is partial contact, and it can’t be fixed with interference tool. Furthermore, the chip which is the heat source cannot be selected as it is not a face. I would like to select the chip to be the heat source when I set the boundary wall.

Any help will be appreciated.

Hi there!

I had a look at your project, but I found that the simulation run was deleted and all of your setup is clean. Thus, I can not find what the errors are and their source.

What I can see from the geometry is that you need some cleaning-up to do:

• Simplify the parts to primitive shapes.
  • Fuse solid parts that are the same material to lower the count of contacts.
  • Assure that contact faces are in full contact.
  • Remove small faces and unnecessary details.

You can do most of this work in the CAD Edit Mode:

Otherwise you need to go back to your CAD tool for the cleaning task.

I have tried to simplify with this new attempt but there is still partial interference. I have snapped the components to base in CATIA, but the problem persists in simscale.

And how do I activate the rotating cube in the bottom right-hand corner? It is missing for me, but I have seen it in videos online.

Hi again, and sorry for the late response.

Your model looks very nice now!

I can see you have a successful run now, although you might need to increase the maximum run time to allow it to finish.

Do you have any new issues?

1 Like

Thanks for the prompt reply. I have managed to fix the issue using imprint in CAD tools.