SimScale CAE Forum

Conjugate heat transfer tutorial - my results are unreasonable

Hey Forum,

I am new to SimScale and tried the [Conjugate heat transfer – cooling of electronic equipment] Tutorial (https://www.simscale.com/docs/tutorials/conjugate-heat-transfer-cooling-of-electronic-sink/). I followed the steps, but the small chip is causing temperatures over 4000K.

If I delete the absolute power source in the small chip and only power the large chip the result seem plausible.

Why is the small chip heating up so much, what did I do wrong?

Can somebody please tell me, why my simulation deviates from all the other ones, where this problem didn’t occur?
my project:
https://www.simscale.com/projects/embers/tutorial_-_conjugate_heat_transfer-_cooling_of_an_electronic_sink_2/

(Run 1, both chips are active, Run 2 only the large chip is active, Run 3 only the small chip is active)

Best regards

embers

Hi Embers!

Thanks for letting us know! Will have a look at that later on and let you know what the cause of this is.

Best,

Jousef

Fixed it Embers!

Here is the new project with the old runs deleted: https://www.simscale.com/projects/jmrd/fixed_-_conjugate_heat_transfer-_cooling_of_an_electronic_sink/ - BCs were missing & material properties were not set correctly from what I have seen.

If you want to do it again from scratch, please have a look at the tutorial here (in case you have not seen it before): CHT Tutorial - Electronic Sink.

Best,

Jousef

Thank you for your help @jousefm,
but I think your changes with the boundary conditions don’t resemble what we are trying to simulate.

My copy of your project:
https://www.simscale.com/projects/embers/cooling_of_an_electronic_sink_using_conjugate_heat_transfer_analysis_-tutorial_try_2-/