Compression test (static nonlinear)

Hello,
I am new in simscale and trying to perform my first simulation.
It is a compression test with strain rate 0.002 s^-1 and the nature of this project is static nonlinear. I want to have a force vs. displacement graph from the simulation. But every time I run, the simulation failed. It is probably due to improper simulation set up.
Can anyone help me regarding this?

Protective Structure - Quasi static compression simulation | SimScale Workbench

1 Like

Hi, and thanks for using the forum!

My usual approach in this case is to switch from the force-driven simulation to a displacement-driven one. The problem is that you need to leave the Z displacement unconstrained, and sometimes the physical contact is not enough at first step to constrain the part.

To obtain the force curve, add a Result control item - Area - Sum - Reaction force to the face were you apply the displacement.

Please try this approach and let me know if you need further help.

1 Like

Thanks for your response.
I have tried with the instructions but it failed. Displacement boundary condition is applied but I don’t know how to make the Z displacement unconstrained. Should I apply remote displacement? I also tried with this and showed the model is overconstrained.
However after running simulation this error message showed up:

Please perform these changes and try again:

1. Assign the fixed value BC to the top face and not to the one under contact.
  2. Under ‘Numerics’, change the ‘Convergence criteria’ to ‘Absolute’
1 Like

Thank you .
The simulation runs successfully.
I get the force vs time curve but desire to get the force vs displacement curve. Would you tell me how can I get that?
Moreover, the colored picture shows that there is stress on the upper platen but I want it as a rigid body so that no rigid body motion (interpenetration) occurs during the simulation. How can I ensure that?