CFD through a lattice structure

Hello! I am relatively new to CFD simulations, but am working on a project looking at fluid flow through lattice type structures. I am having a lot of trouble generating the meshes from the CAD geometries I am exporting from Autodesk Netfabb. I have little experience with CAD, so I am assuming some imprecision in my geometry is causing the mesh generation to fail.

The meshing error is “A multi-region mesh is being used in a single-region analysis type. Please make sure that all regions except for one have an advanced concept assigned to them.”

Since I want to simulate flow through the structure, I generated the flow volume by performing a boolean on a cylinder and a lattice structure (generated via the lattice commander tool in Autodesk). I exported this as a .stl to SimScale. I have pictures of the geometry attached below:

How would I determine where my mesh generation is failing, so that I can modify the CAD properly? Any help is appreciated.

Here is a google drive link to the .stl file I am using: 52 mm radius boolean .stl - Google Drive

Hi @lattia,

After importing the geometry to SimScale, you should should have only one solid. Please check geometry import statistics. This solid is your simulation domain, being water or air left within cylinder (lattice itself removed). You can try to mesh it and in that case you should not see anymore message about ‘multi-region’.

However, STL format may be causing meshing problems, as the simulation domain become huge. You may be better off using different format (like Parasolid).

Moreover, I suggest to try first “standard mesh”, which is TET based (not HEX based), very coarse and automatic. That kind of fine structure will be not obvious to mesh in a simple manner, but at least TET based mesh should allow appropriate finesse after few trials.

Please give us the link to your SimScale project, when ready.,

Take care,

Retsam

3 Likes

Hi @Retsam,
Thank you for your response.