Air Flow Through Tube Symmetry Issue?

Hello,

I’m a total noob at Simulations. I want to investigate the air speed and turbulence flowing through a tube with different flared shapes.

This is the complete part - two volumes with a flared tube between them.

I split it in quarters and put symmetry on two sides.

Looking at TKE I get much more on the one plane than the other. That doesn’t seem correct to me for a circular part?

What is wrong here? I did try increasing the mesh detail, but no change.

Project Link: www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=6326921500997273662

Thank you!

Hi @amyeunji,

Thanks for posting your question! Very interesting project. Maybe a stream tracer help to get the understanding of that.

For me the simulation setup looks ok, so it seems to be a matter of interpretation. If the flow at the inlet is predominantly laminar (as the image above shows), there may not be significant generation of Turbulent Kinetic Energy.

Please let me also tag @DaleKramer here who might have some valuable insights to point out.

best,

1 Like

In my experience this is expected behavior in regions where you would expect the flow to be separated and turbulent.

If you want to study these eddies and vortices which I see may be forming unsymmetrically in your plot, I would suggest learning how to use the LIC plot feature of Paraview.

You can see how well LIC plots present the actual flow lines in a planar view here:

Have fun ! :grinning:
Dale

Thanks for the replies!

It may well be my expectation is not correct or I am not doing the right type of sim, allow me to explain what I wanted to do in more detail.

The reason I wanted to do this is because I was talking to someone about making a Helmholtz resonator. I wished to illustrate that adding a flare and rounded end to the tube can reduce unwanted noises caused by turbulence. However I seem to be disproving myself as a straight tube sim shows lower max TKE!