Water Pond Simulation

I am starting to use this simulator, i am very new to CFD and to SIMSCALE
I ve transfered a pond design from onshape, and looking how this simulator perform, the thing is for some reason, I get the following error:
“A multi-region mesh was assigned - this analysis-type requires a single-region mesh”.
(…)
I tried many configurations.
The project is here: https://www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=9207996278568178168

My last Config. with a material mesh configuration, and the point inside the water volume, resulted in a request to use the mesh as domain, which happen to delete all the structure holding the lagoon and the inlet outlet pipes.

I would be grateful to be offer any advise. Feel free to ask any question.
I only want to check dead zones, and the flow profile, using 3 inlet pipes and 3 outlet pipes, at constant water level to start.

I am triying a new approach.
Take only the pipes and the water volume, as water, and try a intern mesh,
Will update with the result in some minutes.-

Hi @ppuente!

I am not quite satisfied with the geometry. The tubes simply penetrate the body you are working with which is not very clean. Additionally your faces are not closed - a watertight CAD model is vital!

So before talking about setup and physics in general I would make sure that the geometry is (almost) perfect to make sure we eliminate the biggest culprit in the process of simulation.

Cheers!

Jousef

1 Like

Yeah, its not the complete design, since it would lead to multiregion mesh, which I think wont work, on the simulation, yeah the pipes were made on a Rush, and not so clean. I dont really now Watertight CAD Models, But I will check it later, Thanks for the advice.

Ok, before anything sorry for my english, I need a lot more practice.