Simulating fluid flow just outside an outlet

Hi,

I’m a newbie to SimScale, trying to simulate fluid flow through a model of a simple device that receives air from a compressor at a single inlet, and releases air into the atmosphere from a single outlet. The primary area of interest is how fluid flows just outside the outlet. Given that the simulation requires flows both “internal” and “external” to the model, I’m a little unclear on what is the most effective way to proceed…

Is extending the model’s mesh to include a portion of the “outside world” the best/only way to do this?

Alternatively: Is it possible (and does it make sense!) to place the model’s mesh inside (or partially inside?) another mesh representing the outside world? If this second case makes sense: What is the recommended way to handle the relative placement of “model” and “world” meshes, such that the inlet doesn’t influence flow within the “world” mesh?

I also wanted to double check that an appropriate choice for outlet (and/or “world”) boundary condition would be a pressure outlet with the value 0… Does that choice make sense? (The inlet boundary condition is a velocity or flow rate inlet).

Any recommendations would be hugely appreciated.

Thanks!

Hi @spacemanspiff and first of all welcome to SimScale! :wink:

The first project that came into my mind when you talked about “releasing air into the atmosphere” was the project from @Milad_Mafi Chimney pollution analysis .