New user - hoping tech support can validate my setup

I’m new to using your software. Although I seem to have gotten results generally that I would have expected I’m pretty sure the temperatures are not correct. Is there someone who could walk through my setup and see if they can confirm I have done everything correctly?

I have a heat source attached to a heatsink that is enclosed in a sealed plastic volume.
The heat sink is on the bottom of the plastic housing.
Trying to determine how hot the heat source gets.
I am evaluating at 50C ambient. I don’t quite understand what the difference between entering temperature in the initial conditions and boundary conditions is. I have used boundary conditions to set my ambient to 50C.

I created an internal volume in my CAD package that represents the internal air. And then used the CAD editor in SIMSCALE to create the external volume.

Just hoping you can evaluate my setup to point out things I may have done wrong.

HEre is my project and RUN3 in simulations is the one I’d like you to look at.

Thanks!

Hi Chris,

Your setup looks logical and well thought out.
With an initial condition that is basically your starting point. If you set a temperature I.C. your entire domain/subdomain will be at that temperature at Time=0 then the simulation inputs will begin to change the temperature from there.

One thing you might benefit from trying is using mesh refinements. This can change the outcome of simulations as better refinement allows more accurate calculations to be computed. Some other users with better heat transfer analysis knowledge might chime in with more detailed information about boundary conditions and what not. If you have some background information on why you think the temperatures aren’t correct that may also be useful to others.

Best,
Jake

1 Like

Thanks Jake,