SimScale CAE Forum

Natural Convection CFD Analysis settings

Hello,

I am trying to see if I can run a Natural Convection CFD Analysis for a metal plate that heats up under constant power (100W of Joule Heating) for a certain amount of time. Whenever I run the analysis I always get the “Maximum execution time exceeded” error.
I am very new to CFD with OpenFOAM. I have used some other commercial CFD packages that are slightly easier to use, but not OpenFOAM. I dont know if my mesh is too coarse, or if my Simulation Settings are off (and if they are, what are the right settings to tweak-and please explain why so we can understand).

The link is here.

Hi @Namby,

Thanks for sharing your question in the forum. With SimScale, you have a default maximum execution time (set at 3000 s here). What this means is that after 3000 seconds, ~50 minutes your simulation will be cancelled. We have this setting to ensure that you do not burn through all of your core hours on a simulation that is for example not converging.

So you could increase this time to 30000 seconds, which will likely allow your simulation to reach 100%. I would test this on your coarse mesh first and check the results.

Let us know if you are still running into issues and we’ll have a closer look at the setup too :slight_smile:

Best,
Anna

Hello, I created a new Simulation (ust a copy of the first one) called ‘CFDTransientThermalCoarseMesh 20000run_s’ and ran one analysis with Maximum Run time set to 20000s and I got an error after about 1 hr that my maximum Courant number exceeded 1.

I then copied the Moderate Mesh run (CFDTransientThermal_ModerateMesh 20000s) set it to a max run time of 20000s and that also failed with the Maximum Number of Iterations Exceeded. It says the model ran for 56 mins, but 20000s means it should run for 5.5 hours right?