Modelling of Solidification Process

Hullo All

My name is Akash Pakanati and I am writing from Norway. I am doing my PhD in Solidification of Aluminium alloys in Direct Chilled Casting. I am a Mechanical Engineer and have a Masters Degree in Simulation Science from RWTH Aachen, Germany. I have been following SimScale and its progress since the beginning of this year and I am quite excited about the web browser application. So I hope things go quite well for the team and the tool :smile:

Anyways, I am curious if SimScale Team is planning to do some simulations/set up some libraries in the area of solidification? Right now it is an area of interest for me apart from many areas mainly because I am doing PhD in it ;). Well to be honest, a full solidification model coupling the micro (nucleation, microsegregation etc) and macro (thermal-solutal convection, macrosegregation etc) scales is little too much to ask for in the early stages. But it would be interesting to see some basic simulations. It would also be an opportunity for me to compare some results!

Thanks in advance!

Akash

Hi Akash,

exciting PhD topic, @pakanatiakash! I used to work on a project, where a finite element code should be expanded to enable the simulation of a Czochralski process. Solidification is really an interesting phenomenon to work on! Are you coding a solver in your thesis for this? What kind of problems are you looking at? Simple or complex geometries?

So we do have quite some requests for solidification from different industry verticals (also casting, especially injection molding) but as of now, there is no functionality in production yet. What exactly would be most helpful for you? What could be a first good set of functionality that you could work with? We started looking into this but have some bigger releases coming up right now. So there’s still time to steer the development direction :smile:!

Happy Simulating!

David

Hi David