Model car wing simulation setting issues - drag coefficient & time taken

Hello,
I needed some help with incompressible flow simulations for basic front wing designs for a model F1 in schools car. I set up a simulation with one of the wings using the Ahmed Body Tutorial and managed to obtain a successful simulation but I have several doubts regarding Run 1 of my simulation:

The drag coefficient is negative - I couldn’t understand why.

The simulation took a lot of time (568 minutes) - I was completely unaware of what settings to use, so I’m concerned I may have used settings that are too ‘high quality’ for my purposes. I also noticed that the results of the simulation seemed to have stabilised within the very early stages of the simulation run.

This is the link to the project:

I am a 16 y/o newbie to CFD, and this is my first attempt at using simscale. I would appreciate any reference to the best guide/instructional video so I can understand how to utilise it properly for further model car simulations in the future.

Thank you!

Very cool to have someone that young on our platform experimenting with CFD :wink: Keep up the spirit!

Regarding the setup, the BC’s look quite good to me.

• Make sure to explicitly add a no-slip wall boundary condition to your wing structure

• For the Drag Direction I would go with (0,0,-1) instead of your current setting

• Lift is correct so far

CFD Squad, can you counter-check here and see if I missed something? :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Jousef

Hello,
I made the changes suggested, and that has fixed the issue related to the negative drag coefficient. (Thank you!) However, the drag coefficient seems to be a bit high - over 5 - on all the simulation runs. Is this just how it is as a genuine result or is there a fault in my simulation settings for forces and moments coefficient result control? I’m confused as for the geometry I’m using, a front wing, it doesn’t seem right.