Meshing Warning

I’ve been busy attempting to run simulations for research. However, I’ve been having issues with my attempts at running my private simulations with the geometries I created. I keep getting warnings saying,

“the tesselated surface is not closed. There could be a problem with the CAD geometry (such as self-intersections). Please inspect your geometry. Trying to proceed anyway.
incomplete-mesh-sizing-info”.

(SimScale)
At first I had a more detailed model of a vehicle. I could never get past the meshing stage. Then, I made a dummy model with almost no minor details. I had the same errors. So, at this point I’ve gotten really frustrated with the issue because the mesh never generates but still attempting to solve the issues to finish my simulations this weekend so I can continue on with my research. If you are able to help I would greatly appreciate it.

Project linked below
[SimScale]

Hi @rgutierrez852, I’m new to meshing on this platform too. Looking at your model the first thing I see is that your “Solid_3” encompasses the rest of your model. Also one face of Solid_3 is coincident with the model. The first issue will cause you to lose all geometry of the vehicle and the second is likely causing it to fail. So go ahead and try to import the model without Solid_3 and then use the “background mesh box” geometry primitive to create the fluid volume around the vehicle.

I learned a TON about meshing from this workshop. One of the big things was all the details that can make an otherwise valid looking simulation totally wrong.

1 Like

Hi @rgutierrez852!

First of all thanks a lot for the detailed description of your post. Regarding the model I would just upload the car without the box surrounding it. You can let the mesher do the job and create the bounding box. The problem is that your box is too small anyway so I would not even attempt to mesh it like that.