MediWing and MediWing 2.0 - An advanced Medical Delivery Drone Project

Hi, my name is Frank Lucci.

I first want to start off by saying thank you to SimScale for sponsoring this project by giving me the student license I needed to make this project possible. I am an incoming sophomore at BASIS Shavano High School and would like to share the story of my journey so far in designing, building, and testing medical delivery drones for my science fair project.

It all started about two years in a half years ago when I became deeply interested in aeronautics, specifically fluid dynamics. My first projects in SimScale can be traced back to around the middle of my seventh-grade year when I was able to learn a great deal of information on the topic of fluid dynamics. With the possibility of an upcoming science fair competition and the COVID pandemic, I decided that it would be a great idea to design, build, and fly not just any ordinary plane, but one that carries and delivers a medical payload. Additionally, I knew that I didn’t want to design a plane with some ordinary basic calculations that just flew “about right”. I wanted to combine physics calculations, simulations, computer design, and hands-on work in order to arrive at the best possible solution and learn the most by the end of the project. So then it began, project MediWing.