Marine Resistance prediction

Hlw guys,
I am using A model of armored personnel carrier to predict its resistance in water at a speed of 6 knot. Now during laminer flow simulatoin i have had no problem but in case of turbulent flow simulation it is giving a problem saying - Inconsistent boundary condition types. Possibly the empty boundary conditions were not correctly assigned for a 2D mesh. Please check the boundary conditions.

As i am a newbie i am not understanding what is the mistake i have done in boundary condition. This is being used in my thesis project. So i require an expert advice from this forum. I would be grateful if anybody could find out what is the mistake i have done.

Thank you
Regards
Taufiq

1 Like

Hey @dungree!

Nice to see you so motivated using our platform for your projects :slight_smile: Could you share the project with us please so that we can have a closer look at it?

Cheers!

Jousef

Hlw @jousefm,
Extremely sorry that i forgot to share the link. Link to the project is -

1 Like

I followed the steps that was done by @dheiny in hull resistance analysis… Also i am expecting some expert advice from @sjoshi . I have last few days left to collect my result so i m kinda out of track if i cant figure it now. :frowning: .

Regards
Taufiq

I Will try another simulation by myself later on.

Cheers!

Jousef

1 Like

I have a project here: [Deleted by the author]

produces no errors about boundary conditions, seems to be identical setup to David Heiny’s but is producing numerical instabilities. I’ll keep looking if you would like.

Kind regards,
Darren

2 Likes

Mine is currently at 25% but as you said some instabilities are produced as well as time step continuity errors which might be fixed later on (maybe no need at single precision roundoff error…).

Will post my results later on. Cheers!

Jousef

2 Likes

Hi @dungree!