LED Thermal Simulation

Hi Guys,
I’m trying to make some thermal simulations.
I would like to ask you some tips.
Usually, which is the best material to set up for LEDs?
I try Silicone. But I’m not very satisfied.

How to calculate the temperature that the LED produce?
I only have the current as a value (700mA) and the LED datasheet.

Why the FR4 material was removed from material list?
I would like to make a comparison between aluminum PCB’s and fr4 PCB’s

Hi @sn1px!

You can have a look at this project if you like: Heat sink LED.

I would have to look up the formula for the LED temperature for specific currents and materials can be adapted if needed. Once you have uploaded your model you can share it with us and we’ll comment on it. Also it would be good to look for data sheets of the LEDs.

Best,

Jousef

Thank you for your fast reply.
Now i check the project suggested.

Meanwhile:
This is my first project with simscale: LED Heatsink by sn1px | SimScale

Current: 700mA

1 Like

This is my progress in the calculation of Tj of LED:

The formula was found on internet is:
Tj = TA + (ƟJA)×(Pd)

ƟJA = Junction-to-ambient thermal resistance
TA = Ambient operating temperature (temperature grade of the actual device)
Pd = Voltage (V) × Current (I). Typical Voltage and Current values are found in the datasheet

ƟJA = 3.66°C/W (maximum value in LED datasheet)

The operating conditions are defined by:

Voltage = 3.27 V
Current = 700 mA

What do you think? :slight_smile:

Hi @sn1px!

Looks good at first glance but would have to look that up myself and see if this formula is a special case and if there are other formulae for this purpose. What I would do in your case is to take that formula, put everything in and see if the simulation fits the data (if available from the sheets you provided at the top).

Best,

Jousef

Hi @sn1px