Huge Drag values during wing analysis

Hi everyone, hope you are good.
I have a little problem with my simulation (I’m new to SimScale) the drag values of my last analysis are too big, also the force coefficients are too big (cd of 121?? cl of 44??)
Cm = 0
Cd = 121.842178711
Cl = -44.3931433807
Cl(f) = -22.1965716904
Cl(r) = -22.1965716904
Time = 583
smoothSolver: Solving for Ux, Initial residual = 0.0004400471994, Final residual = 1.21441571294e-06, No Iterations 4
smoothSolver: Solving for Uy, Initial residual = 0.000389991079001, Final residual = 1.07467529991e-06, No Iterations 4
smoothSolver: Solving for Uz, Initial residual = 2.10643613392e-05, Final residual = 5.85262966123e-08, No Iterations 4

Please help me, here is the link SimScale

Hi @nvalenti!

Getting back to you as soon as we have found the cause of this. CFD Squad, feel free to jump in here :slight_smile: First thing that I noticed is that you have a very anisotropic mesh which might cause this issue. Make sure to have an isotropic mesh first and check the values again! In addition to that you probably should use the incompressible solver as your velocities are not that high or do you have another reason for an incompressible simulation?

Best,

Jousef

1 Like

Hi @nvalenti
Have a look at the similar project i have created for my university project.
I also have calculated Cl and Cd of the airfoil which came to be very much closer to the experimental data.

Just go through the procedure i have adopted and i am sure that you will get satisfactory result.
Regards

2 Likes

Thank you @jousefm for the support, I now have switched to the incompressible solver (I did not realize I selected the compressible one, it was a mistake). About the isotropic mesh, should the mesh have the same dimensions on all the axis?
Big thanks to @HamzaBaig for your project, I’m using it as a guide for my simulation.

Regards,

Nicolai

1 Like

Hi @nvalenti
you are always welcome, feel free to ask any query in the future.