How can you do Supersonic Simulations of aircraft?

Hi Community!

I am a high school student that wants to use CFD for a science fair project. I am also an aspiring aerospace engineer but very new to computational fluid dynamics. For my science fair project, I have a few aircraft design ideas that will reduce the angle of a shock wave. I want to use CFD to observe or measure this effect.

That being said, do you know how I can use SimScale to model airflow around an aircraft. I’ve played with the system but I am not sure how to do speeds above Mach 1. Is it even possible to supersonic simulations with SimScale? If so, would you be willing to give a relatively rudimentary tutorial? Additionally, how can I use CFD to visualize the formation of a shockwave? Are there any measurement outputs that will help me to observe or approximate the sound levels from different distances from the aircraft?

Thanks!

Hi @rtemp!

Supersonic simulations are possible but are very tricky to master as they easily diverge. A model you might be interested in from my colleague Ali can be found here: SimScale - maybe also @Get_Barried can comment if he has more to add as he is probably the one with the most compressible runs here :smiley:

Cheers,

Jousef

3 Likes

Hi @rtemp,

Well let me start by saying supersonic flow is not exactly simple because for supersonic flow, rhocentralfoam is used and this is a density based transient solver. This means it will be very very expensive to run something as complex as a full aircraft or in this case, 3D dimensional object unless you have a very consistent and relatively coarse mesh.

So if you’re new to CFD, I would say this project may be a little bit too much. However, I do have a suggestion but it is also not so easy.