Flow and heat transfer outside of a pipe

Dear all,
First of all please forgive the vagueness of my vocabulary, I’m a humble biologist using CFD tools to evaluate local hemodynamics in blood vessels.
I’m looking for a way to evaluate heat transfer outside of a thermal-conductive pipe, in which a hot viscous substance is flowing continuously.
I’ve already successfully simulated the flow pattern in various thin-layered pipe, and now I’d like to understand to impact of such flow pattern on the surrounding heat transfer.
Could you help with this approach?

Many thanks!
Greg

Hi there Greg (@GregOS)!

Sounds like an interesting application you have there! In your case I would probably do a conjugate heat transfer (CHT) analysis allowing the heat transfer between the solid and fluid domains by exchanging thermal energy at the interfaces. Do you already have the geometry set up and can share it with us as well as some input data you want to use? We can help you out for sure.

Best,

Jousef

2 Likes

Hi Jousef,
Thanks a lot for your inputs. We could definitely run a conjugate heat transfer using the geometries I’ve previously used. Here is the geometry within the project:
[https://www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=4276532864427804384#tab_0-0]
(Hope it is visible and accessible this way).
Best,
Greg

Hi @GregOS,

this is not the classical CHT analysis we know so I would rather move to a convective heat transfer analysis if that tells you something. A nice project to have a look at would be this one right here: SimScale - you can see how adding thermal boundary conditions can be done with ease assuming you have some input from your side about these boundary conditions. Any additional help or tips from @Get_Barried, @vgon_alves or @Anware is much appreciated.

Best,

Jousef

Hi @GregOS,