FEA simulation of a nut assembly

I am a complete beginner with simscale.

I am having trouble with the simulation designer.

After four failed simulation runs I need help.

This is a static FEA model.

Public Project ‘Nut assembly 2’

I wish to apply a load boundary condition ‘Load on nut bore’. This is a force in the Z direction.

Why am I getting a warning that this force should be time dependent?

Hi @ChuckKey!

I have done a simulation which can be found here: . Please be aware that I added bonded contacts instead of the physical contacts you had before for testing reasons but changing that should be no problem. On top of that I added the time to the load boundary condition in order to slowly increase the load reaching its maximum at the last timestep.

Let me know what you think and if you have any further questions.

All the best!

Jousef

Thanks @jousefm, I have had a look at your simulation. I have done what you suggested and given the load a time function. I have also reversed the direction of the load (I want the links in tension) so I can see the stress in the flange of the nut. I have left the contacts as physical, as you said this should be OK. A fourth run failed.

Next I tried reversing the master-slave relationship of the contacts. A 5th run failed.

Can you see what is wrong?

Meanwhile I will try a simulation with bonded contacts.

I have two conceptual difficulties (for now).

Firstly, the SimScale documentation and tutorials I have found so far do not give much guidance on how to choose between bonded and physical contact. How do I chose?

Secondly, as I understand it, the ‘time’ function of the load actually means that an FEA run needs to iteratively increment the load. I think I have an idea why it might need to, but an explanantion would help.

Hi @jousefm