Error in Meshing

I am trying to do a simulation to understand passive displacement cooling and I have this error when meshing:
A setup with 5 regions is being used in a single-region analysis type. Please make sure that all regions except for one have an Advanced Concept assigned to them.

This is my first time using simscale so I’m not very familiar with the software but what does this mean? Would appreciate any help, thanks.

The link to my project is here:

Hi!

The error is quite simple. For a convective heat transfer analysis, we only need a single volume (the flow region) for the simulation. The solid volumes, such as walls, humans, etc, should be removed from the CAD model.

If you don’t do this for a convective heat transfer analysis, you will run into a multi-region mesh error. In your case, I believe the volume named “Solid 3” already represents the flow region, therefore the following operations are necessary:

• Remove the sheet parts from the model (these are never desired in simulations using OpenFOAM/Code Aster). Deleting them should work just fine
  • Use a boolean (or combine, depending on the CAD software) to subtract the solid parts from the flow region. This analysis type requires a single volume only (the flow region). The solid parts don’t need to be in the geometry.

As a result, you should obtain a flow region with the “negative” representation of the solids. Again, the model imported should contain a single volume, like this:

Cheers

Hi!

Thanks for your help. I understand the need for single volume for the simulation, however, if that’s the case, does it mean that I would not be able to simulate with heat sources?

I was trying to recreate a project similar to this project I saw on youtube:

My idea was to have the heat sources from the window and ‘human’. How can I do this?