Do i have to import parts 1 by 1?

hello, I’m very new to this but I do want to simulate airflow, I was looking for something that I can run locally on my hardware but most videos covered simscale so I’m here

I’ve modeled a very simple warehouse using Blender, with scaling correct too (I hope it exported with that) and I exported the file as an STL, as one of the simscale tutorials said it accepts it. however in the tutorial, after the object was uploaded it showed up as multiple parts, while mine was just 1, I tried editing it in CAD but it’s very weird, the camera proportions are not the same, along with the object positioning, I’m assuming its because I’m new and have to get used to it, in tutorials they add where they want air coming in and out, for this, I’m just looking for ventilation, so I don’t want like inlet air, it would still be good to know how to get to that

I’ve watched a couple of tutorials and I’m trying to do what they’re doing but it’s very confusing, my question is do I have to export each part separately and then combine them together or can I just have 1 export? I’m not sure and I’m confused, I know that if you want separate models you’d have separate exports however I haven’t used STL before or simscale

I’m still learning, watching tutorials, and trying things out, even after I post this, if I do find the answer I’ll comment it here and mark it as solved

Hi @afard,

Thanks for posting your question! It seems a very good project, so thanks for sharing. Is it possible to you to export this same CAD file as a neutral file format (e.g.: .stp or .igs) by any chance? It would be helpful for me to guide you in a better way, once stl files are more intricate to deal as a 1st beginning project.
Please try to do that and let me know once it has been done. I will be happy to guide you on that.

Note: Combining all parts in just one is the best way to import a geometry for Incompressible analysis type.

best,

1 Like