Creating MRF/AMI Region

Hello All,

I am new to simscale and have been going through the tutorials and some practice exercises. While I was trying to create a cell zone as a surface refinement for implementing AMI or MRF, the corresponding region is not created after the meshing process. Which I think is necessary to put in the rotation boundary condition in the simulation phase.

I am trying to simulate a rotating/pitching airfoil. I created a cylinder encompassing the airfoil and used this volume to create cell zone. I was wondering if I need to specify any other condition or setting to create the region.

Hi @vt_vijay!

Could you share the project with us please? I will have a look at it :slight_smile:

Best,

Jousef

Thank you for getting back to me. I have sent an invite link. I am attaching the link to the project below as well

Hi @vt_vijay!

The side face of the airfoil is touching the cylinder - make sure to fix that first. Can you tell us why you put a cylinder for the MRF around your airfoil?

Cheers!

Jousef

Hi @jousefm ,

Thank you for clearing that up. I thought that’s the way to assign an MRF/AMI volume to pitch the airfoil. Even in the tutorial shown for Hex-dominant parametric: Rotating geometries, a cylinder is used.

I am trying to simulate a 2D airfoil/infinite wing using the symmetry boundary conditions on the sides. I figured a cylinder of height same as the length of the airfoil should do the job because I would have to specify the boundary on the end face of the wing. If the cylinder needs to be bigger than airfoil, how do I modify the configuration to specify the symmetry boundary condition?
Is there another better way to do this?

Thanks,
Vishal

Hi @vt_vijay,

This project is highly relevant to you. I suggest you keep the circle thin like in this project.

Good luck.

Regards,
Barry

Hi @vt_vijay & @Get_Barried!