Co-flow airfoil simulation

I am in my final year of engineering (Aeronautical) and I am interested in fluid dynamics. Recently, I read few papers on ‘Co-Flow Airfoil’ and I really liked the idea behind that work. I am willing to do my final year project on building an Electric Aircraft Model which is having Co-Flow airfoil. But, I am not getting enough help from the faculty.

I was interested in running an analysis on the NACA 23024 airfoil. I have built the geometry in CATIA V-5, with injection slot and suction slot (I have kept the slot size same). I generated the mesh in ICEM CFD. Now, I am feeling difficulties in running the analysis in ANSYS FLUENT.

I have employed Spalart-Allmaras 1 equation turbulence model. I am confused about the boundary conditions which I need to employ for the airfoil. I have tried about 100 cases involving different boundary-conditions on injection and suction slot, but, it didn’t give proper results. I read a paper that quoted ’ The simulations were done with free stream conditions of M∞ = 0.3, p∞ = 101.325 kPa and T∞ = 300K. The mass flow rate at suction is 0.2 Kg/s. The injection slot was given as pressure outlet and the suction slot as mass flow inlet conditions.’. I don’t quite well understand that. When I employ the same, again, I am not getting results properly. Can you please shed some light on boundary conditions that I have to employ to get the satisfactory results, please?

1 Like

Hi @Shahid_Ameen!

Darren (@1318980) and Barry (@Get_Barried) have worked or work on similar problems and might help you out here.

As a first tip have a look at the simulation here: Compressible Airfoil Simulation

Best,

Jousef

Thanks for replying, @jousefm.
I have looked into the works and simulations of flow over an airfoil. But, I am referring to ‘Co-Flow Jet Airfoil’. I cannot figure out the boundary conditions of the latter airfoil.

Sure @Shahid_Ameen!