CFD Pipe Flow - Results Diverge

I am modeling what is essentially a piping Tee (24"x30"x30") with 46 small holes drilled in the 36" side. The fluid is water. The inlet is the 24" side. This Tee is meant to diffuse water instead of dumping it into a tank directly from the pipe. The project is titled Tee Diffuser - Incompressible CFD.

The first run I performed produced results with unrealistically high velocities. I used a k-omega SST model. I defined the inlet as a volumetric flow rate with the outlets being pressure (0 psig). I also tried defining a uniform velocity inlet, but this produced similarly high velocity results.

I closed off all of the small outlet holes, so only the two 30" legs of the Tee were outlets. This produced results that make sense. It seems the 46 small holes are causing problems with the solver.

I am new to using SimScale, and CFD software in general, and am not sure how to proceed with getting results accounting for flow out of the small holes. Any help is appreciated.

Hi @rtrowbridge!

Very nice project you have there! @power_users and I will have a look at that and get back to you as soon as we have figured out the problem. Currently running a mesh followed by a simulation to see if we can avoid the problems you were mentioning.

Best,

Jousef

Hi @rtrowbridge!

I see you are using the Hex-Dominant Automatic meshing function. Normally I would typically use the Hex-Dominant Parametric meshing function for greater control at the points of interest.

With the automatic function it seems like the relative low quality of the mesh at the outlets (holes) is causing some problems for your results and I would recommend using the parametric function and refining the area near the holes to get a better resolution as currently it seems rather distorted.

I’ll mesh it out and see if it works, but in the meantime can you share how you verify your velocity? What would be considered the velocity that “makes sense” as you have mentioned?