CFD Compressible Flow - Rocket

Hello,

I am fairly new to Simscale but I have chosen to use this platform in order to simulate a steady state compressible air flow around a rocket at a given altitude at maximum speed (5814 ft at 588 m/s). However, I have been trying to simulate this project for a few weeks now with no luck. I am not sure what I am doing wrong, and I would highly appreciate if someone with more knowledge could help me out.

1. Link to project - https://www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=4920662020402178442&mi=run%3A133%2Csimulation%3A118&mt=SIMULATION_RUN

• I apologize I have a couple of geometries open in this one project. I am looking at the “airbrakes-90 degrees” geometry specifically with the “Air Brakes- 90 degrees” simulation!
  2. The mesh is complete, and I believe it’s sufficient for the most part. However, I do keep getting the error of 'maximum number of iterations exceeded". I tried manipulating the simulation controls and making sure that my boundary conditions are suitable for what I am testing. Essentially I would like to compute the drag and lift coefficients as well as the forces on the body of the rocket. I did take a different path in modelling the rocket itself, as I modelled the fluid domain as a part.

3. I am trying to simulate a compressible air flow around the rocket. I obtained the maximum velocity value from OpenRocket (a rocket simulator) as well as the pressure value of the air and calculated the density and dynamic viscosity through separate calculations.

If anyone could help me out I would greatly appreciate it!

Hi @mben_aoun and nice approach!

@Get_Barried has carried out some comp. simulations in the past and they are quite…stubborn I’d say. Could you have a look at the user’s setup please Barry and give him some tips?

Will jump in shortly. Also interesting for me as I have to catch up with my Falcon Heavy sim at some point… :thinking::sunglasses:

Best,

Jousef

Hi @jousefm,