Ceiling fan simulation

Hi simscale users,

I am trying to learn simulation using simscale. This is my first project. Its a ceiling fan and I am trying to understand the flow of it. But I am not sure if I have done all the steps right. It would be of great help if someone can look into it and point out what and if there is anything wrong with the simulation and the results.
Here is the link SimScale

Thanks,
Pushpal

Hi @pushpaldey!

The setup looks good so far. Just make sure that the MRF zone is not too much in the proximity of the fan to avoid artifacts not representing real physics.

Just give it a try and let me know when you’re done - will have a look at the results then.

Best,

Jousef

1 Like

Thanks @jousefm for taking a look at the problem. By proximity you mean, I should increase the length and radius of the rotating zone so that the boundary is not in proximity of the fan? The fan has to be inside the rotating zone right? And should the material (air) be attributed to the whole mesh including rotating zone and bounding box and fan mesh?

Hi @pushpaldey!

Exactly, leave some distance between the MRF zone and your fan. My colleague Darren (@1318980) had issues with this in the past simulating a wind turbine (if I can find the post I will share it with you).
Regarding the material you are right that you just need to assign every domain to air and that’s it.

Feel free to ask me if you have any questions.

Best,

Jousef

Hi @jousefm

I have done the simulation for different blade configurations. The results looked pretty close to the test results(named incompressible) but in case of a modified fan blade (named flap) I found that the results were not close to the actual test results. So now, I am having doubt, if the simulation is right. Or is it that MRF is not a suitable approach for a configuration where there are small geometry involved that can affect the direction of the air. Can you please look at the results?

Thanks,

Pushpal