Better understanding aerodynamic results

Hi, this is my first attempt to use CFD to characterize a lifting surface aerodynamic coefficient.

I’ve setup a simple simulation where I evaluated a wing at cruise speed & 0deg AOA Force et Moment and it’s aerodynamic coefficients.

However, I’m a bit confused, I’m getting a lift coefficient of 0.3834.
Using the ref Surface of 0.408 m^2, ref free stream velocity of 13.9 m/s and air density of 1.1965 kg/m^3, get a lift force of 18.08 N. However, looking at the force résultat, the Z force is computed at 15.11

Additionally, the lift coefficient much different of the one provided by openvsp which use a vortex lattice method. The VLM evaluates the lift at 0.2422

I am misunderstanding something?

ps. I’m also concerned of my trailing edge meshing, what could I do to fix it?

Thanks

Hi @borowczyk_alex,

I see so far your mesh refinements are alright. Have you considered doing a steady-state analysis first to iron out and possible mesh issues before moving on to compressible? 13.9m/s is less than 0.3 Mach and your flow can be deemed incompressible which will simply your simulation, allowing you to identify any possible issues.

As for the mesh itself, you need to consider your Y+ value. Assuming you’ve elected to keep using the same turbulence model k-omega SST, you will typically need a Y+ of less than 1 to capture the wall effects. Do consider this before re-meshing but I do recommend switching to incompressible flow first.

Sorry what do you mean? Is the mesh showing weird distortions at the trailing edge? I can’t see it now as you’ve started to re-mesh. A good way to mitigate this issue would be to increase surface refinement and probably a feature refinement. That would help the mesh conform to your geometry.

Do let me know how it goes.

Cheers!

Regards,
Barry

2 Likes

Oh I am embarrassed, I don’t know why, but I believed compressible flow assumption started at 0.03.