'Truck Test' simulation project by mwatkins

I created a new simulation project called 'Truck Test':

self tutorial

More of my public projects can be found here.

Hi @mwatkins

I think you are trying to perform an external flow analysis over the truck geometry. Kindly refer to this project which might be of help to setup the simulation.
If you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
Sam (@sjesu_rajendra)

Hi Sam,

Thanks so much for your note, and you are correct in what I am trying to do. I currently do CAD modeling, and a company that I consult for wants me to do some CFD in the area of trucking.

My background is in Physics, so I conceptually understand CFD and FEA. However, I am new to setting up these problems for solutions on your platform, so a tutorial is helpful.

I chose your product over the standard OpenFOAM platform because your interface reduces my learning curve. Once I can prove my competence in using your platform the company I work with will want me to upgrade to a private/paid account.

Thanks again for your guidance in this area. Mike

Hi Mike @mwatkins,

I took a quick look at your project. This should be rather straightforward to simulate with SimScale - as @sjesu_rajendra wrote, there are many similar projects available. However you’d need to prepare the CAD model a bit more. I noticed that the truck cabin is not watertight. There are open holes close to the frontwheels (see images). This will lead to the fact that the flow will enter the cabin, which would be non-physical.

Hope that helps,

Best,

David

Hi David,

Thanks for your input, but this leads me to a few practice questions about watertightness:

1. Did you find this gap visually/manually, or is there a more precise method for holes that are too small to see?