Simulation assignment on the geometry is not supported

Hello All,

I’m working through the pump tutorial but after generating the mesh I get this warning “Simulation assignment on the geometry is not supported for the currently selected mesh. Try to regenerate your mesh or use the mesh as simulation domain”. After looking through some of the posts here it says that I should just carry on but then I get another warning.

“Simulation assignment on the geometry is not supported for this mesh. By continuing all assignments will be reset.”

I’m new to this and was hoping to get through this relatively easily, at least with the help of teh tutorial. Any help to make this an easy process wold be greatly appreciated.

Kas

My Project here

1 Like

Hi Kas!

I assume that your mesh did finish - simply click Use mesh as domain and you should be good to go. The internet in the train is too bad to open your project at the moment :smiley: Try what I have proposed and let us know if that worked!

Best,

Jousef

2 Likes

hi @klewis
@jousefm sir was right.

i was found one mistake in your inflate boundary layer. you assign 94 faces ( except inlet and outlet face) but there was total 97 face.
i was run your project. just copy or follow the step.

Thanks,
Rohit.

2 Likes

The tutorial says to leave out the containment volume (where the impeller rotates) s that snot needed. This should be 97 - 3 = 94 faces. It could be that I’m not understanding correctly. If this is the case please help me understand.

I also don’t understand when its says:

• After the mesh is generated, use the mesh as the domain for simulation and click on reset the assignments when prompted.
  • Click on generate mesh clip to inspect the internal mesh. Adjust the settings of the normal. Click on generate mesh clip icon.

Where is this done and how, its great instructions… for someone who knows what do do.

Kas

Hi @klewis