Problem with creating internal flow volume

I am new to SimScale and have no previous knowledge of CFD, but I’m trying to use it for my university project. I am trying to model the effect that air flow has on the temperatures of the battery pack, but I am unable to create the internal flow volume prior to running the simulation.

There are gaps that exist in the battery pack but it was designed to be this way and I am not sure how I can resolve this issue to create an accurate simulation. Simply running the simulation will generate these errors below that I have no idea what it means.

Any help will be greatly appreciated as I am very confused on how to resolve these issues.

Hi ww680,

thanks for reaching out to us here in the forum.

Can you share a link to your project here in the forum, so that we can have a look at it?
In regards to the general setup of the simulation, I’d suggest having a look at this tutorial.

Thanks and best regards
Sebastian

Yes here it is: https://www.simscale.com/workbench/?pid=7162348678429997339&mi=spec%3A543ceb79-3618-498e-acf3-41c9047f99a6%2Cservice%3ASIMULATION%2Cstrategy%3A6

Hi ww680
I was able to create the flow volume. the issue is that the top and bottom parts of the housing are overlapping.

therefore please use the subtract notion, and subtract the top from the bottom part.
then you are able to create the internal flow volume, using the boundary faces you have selected.

On a further note, I would recommend reducing the level of detail from the battery stacks.

I would suggest having the cells only be a standard cylinder and removing the holes from the clamping blocks.

Best regards
Sebastian

Hi,

So you are suggesting that I remove the top like so (highlighted in red):

leaving only the bottom half of the casing?

Also, I cannot find this “subtract” function and why should the cells be simplified further?

Hi,

you can use the subtract tool as shown here: