SimScale CAE Forum

Physical Contact between moving objects

To whom it may concern

I am writing to request your kindly assistance to teach me run following simulation?

https://www.simscale.com/projects/exceedemand/test1/

I am new to simscale but used Ansoft for years. Aforementioned model is to learn about the replace stress to different pattern, e.g. square and hexagon.

Thanks in advance.

Hi @exceedemand and excuse me for the delayed response.

I assume you want to move both objects across the plate and see the resulting stresses as mentioned, right?

Some tips on your setup:

• Create a physical contact between the components and your plate (you can vary the coulomb coefficient in the created connection)

• You can fix the plate from below by just picking the lower surface

• You apply the force on both components in one step. I would rather apply the forces smoothly over time by defining a function looking like this: 0.01*t [m] (you can also place both components more at the other side of the plate to have more frames to observe the behavior

Once you fixed these issues you can give the project a quick spin to see if everything works. @cjquijano & @ggiraldo, let us know if you have any additional thoughts on this case.

Best,

Jousef

Hi @exceedemand,

I would be happy to help you out. Can you provide a little more information about what you are trying to solve for? I looked at your model and I saw three parts and all three parts have a face that is fixed. So, what you are trying to solve for.

Thanks!
Chrisotpher

Thanks Chrisotpher,
I attempt to simulate stress occur to thermal grown glass (silicon oxide) in either square or Hexagon pattern on a silicon wafer, when the silicon wafer is bended like a bow. The model in my mind is that hexagon with rounded corner performs better, but it is first time for me to use this tool. Thanks a lot.
BR, Jin

Hi Jousef