'Parachute' simulation project by jhorv_th

I created a new simulation project called 'Parachute':

Parachute test v is 4mps

More of my public projects can be found here.

Seemingly overly large drag values, unsure why

Hi @jhorv_th - super interesting application! Eager to help if you’re running into troubles with the sim!

Best,

David

Hi @dheiny,

first of all thanks for your interest in my project!

I’m quite new with SimScale and with CAE applications in general so I’m trying to use my little knowledge about the topic based on a Drone prop simulation tutorial to determine the drag force applied on the canopy at 4m/s descent rate.

My first run was not a real success, because the Force plot showed 0.0 N. Now I’m making a new mesh that seems to be stucked and I’m not really sure that this one would work better.

Anyway, I’d appreciate any tips tricks comments or hints so that I’d succeed sooner.

BR,
János

Hi János @jhorv_th,

I had a quick look at your project - great work! Two things I noticed:

• Boundary Condition setup: The reason why the force is zero is that you’re not forcing any flow. So a flow field that solves your constraints is simply zero velocity everywhere, which is why the force also is zero. If you force a flow to happen e.g. via an inlet BC at the bottom, this will change immediately.

• Mesh: This might be a bit trickier to fix. Your mesh contains illegal faces, see meshing log:

The surface of the parachute is changing the angle to Cartesian directions constantly, so that can be a challenge for meshing but this can be fixed as well. A first few hints:

• Cell height is considerably larger then cell with, see this image (I know, I’ve got mad drawing skills :wink: ):

Throw in more cells in z direction, than this should get better. I’m pretty sure that the edges on the parachute are the region where the illegal faces occur:

Here you could turn up the surface refinement by one more level.